Run fast or run long? (Read 919 times)

Giant Flaming Dork

I have been running off and on for the last 3 years, competing in several 5ks in that time. I am overweight, but in better shape than I've been since college. This year I have gone from an "off and on" runner to a more serious one. I'm at a crossroads, wondering if I should start to train for my first marathon (run long) or if I should try to knock down the 5k time, 26:47 (run fast). Currently I'm running 12-18 miles per week. What would you do in my position?

http://xkcd.com/621/

runninginmemphis

Run more. Get your weekly mileage up with some additional runs, and your 5k time will come down without running fast or doing any speedwork.
      Laura

SMART Approach

Yes, as Laura say, no matter what you goal is more miles will make you faster. Training for a marathon and getting your miles up will allow you to hammer your PR in the 5K by a lot. Decide your goals but either way, more miles (with most of them comfortably paced) will make you faster in all events.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training

Safe Muscle Activation Recovery Technique

www.smartapproachtraining.com

Another Passion

What would you do in my position?
          The question is what do you want to do? Do what interests you and will keep you running and set your goals on that.

Rick
          "The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare." - Juma Ikangaa
          "I wanna go fast." Ricky Bobby
          runningforcassy.blogspot.com

You'll need to run longer whichever direction you decide to go. Your current mileage is good for general fitness but won't allow you to improve your 5K time and certainly isn't enough to start training for a marathon. Being over weight is also an issue when it comes to running. Dropping a few pounds is the quickest way to a faster pace. Tom