Heart Rate Question (Read 125 times)

HerdFan2000

Hello I've been running for 3-4 years between 15-20 miles per week. Male, 42, 5'9" 175lbs. I'd say my best 10K time is 46:30. My question is related to Heart rate while running . My resting HR varies from 55-62

When I run anywhere from 8min/mile to 9min/mile my heart rate stays around 150-160 for the first 9-12 minutes then shoots up very quickly to 175-185 for the reminder of the run. Even when I'm going down a incline for almost 3/4 of mile it stays above 170.
    I feel like I've been running long enough to keep my HR lower than 175 when running. And yes at the end of my 6-7 mile run with a HR >170 I do feel winded. Thoughts? My goal is to run a half marathon at 8 min/mile. Could this be a heart issue or am I not running enough miles to achieve the pace I want?

I wouldn't ask for a heart diagnosis here, if you're at all worried I'd talk to a doctor. A cardiologist might order a stress test if they felt there was a risk.

I believe what you're experiencing is related to lack of aerobic fitness, probably because you are running too hard, too often. Google "cardiac drift" and see what you can learn.

One thing that would be helpful is to figure out your Max HR- and not with a formula.  Can you do a couple of 800s and build up to where the last one  is at maximum effort- like a race?  See what your HR is at the end of that- where you feel like you can’t go any faster or further.  Then we can look at the different training zones for you.

Out there running since dinosaurs roamed the earth

pedaling fool

I agree, knowing your Max H/R is crucial, because it would tell us at what percentage of your max H/R you're working during your runs. And finding your max H/R is not such an easy thing to do, it takes a lot of preparatory work, before you actually take the max H/R reading.