What are your "goal miles" "races to run" for 2009? (Read 924 times)

HappyDuck

I want to set a certain amout of miles for 2009 but am not sure how many. I have two jobs, two kids and a farm! Some days are great to run.....others not so much. I am the type that I will kill myself to reach a goal. No matter what. Not such a great personality trait sometimes. I signed up for my first 10k this fall knowing that I had surgery 11 days before. The word stuborn works but stupid is better No I finished in 56 minutes. But paid for it with a "little" ha ha pain later. So, please tell me what your goals are for 2009 I have my first half next year and cant wait, it is all that I think about (please tell me that isnt odd) I also want to do an 8k. So I will have a 5k, 8k, 10k and half under my belt. I have a reason for my oddness. I have been fighting cancer for over 7 years and lets just say these are on my list.
    Somewhere someone out there is training when your not and when you race him, he will beat you!
    CathayLad.

PlodderfromMAN

Happy Duck goals are a great motivator, I have only ever ran one marathon and that was way back when I was 23 years old and though I've always jogged on and off, early this year I came up with a goal of my own, I wanted to get fit for 50, my goal was to do a marathon in my 50th year but to do it quicker than when I was 23. I'm into my third month of training, I'm up to 30 miles a week, my longest run so far as been 10.6 miles, I've got another 6 months to go, I'm not saying I'll do it but I'll give it a good go. Happy Duck sorry to hear about the illness, but stay strong and keep focused, a positvie mind will lead to a positve outcome, best of luck. Best of luck Plodderfrom MAN. Smile
      Goals. <7:45mins -="" 1="" mile=""></7:45mins><50mins -="" 10k=""></50mins><1hr 50mins="" -="" half="" marathon.(march09)=""></1hr><4hrs marathon (may09) marathon=""></4hrs marathon (may09)>
      zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem