Goal of sub 20 5k (Read 13664 times)

Good Job Michigan, you're close! I'm settingling into training mode now (though I do have an 8K race on June 14). Plan is to nail the sub 20 in Sept or Oct. Steve

2014 - Get 5k back under 20:00.  Stay healthy!

Supa Dupa Fly

Good job mich! almost there! me however, i was 20:43 on saturday...a bit slower than the 20:22 i ran in March. Mile splits were 6:20, 6:40, 7:00 + :43 at the end. I died at about 1.5 miles and my right calf got really tight. meh. I know it's all because I still only get about 13 miles a week in. If i can get more miles in per week it'll be a cake walk...I just don't have the endurance on such low mileage. I'll probably try again in about a month...
        ~TC --There are 10 kinds of people in the world: those who understand binary and those who don't--
          Hey guys, I'm new here. Found this on the new Coolrunning. My goal is also a Sub 20 5k. I started running when I was in 7th grade. I'm now a Freshman. My best 5K was in a cross country race. 21:15. I feel that I am definetly capable now. In a track meet yesterday I ran my 1600m in 5:45. Then as the anchor for the Distance Medley Relay I ran another mile in 5:54. This was a huge step for me as I only run a sub 6 mile once before this season and that was after a full season of cross country. Can't wait to finish up track and start training for xc. Plan on getting out for 4 or 5 road races this summer.
          I ran 1600 meters in 5:50 in high school and my 5k best was 20:30 at that time. All you need is a little more base miles (mostly easy) and your times will drop near that 20 minute mark. Today I estimate I can do a mile in around 5:45 and my 5k time is 20:03...I would love to try a mile time trial in the next week or two to see if I what I am capable of. The 6 minute mile was the 1st barrier that taunted me for a good year before I broke it. Nice job beating that time again.