Question about getting faster (Read 966 times)

I just started running in June, and I had never ran a mile in my life before that so I am very new to this whole running thing. Please forgive my ignorance if this is a stupid question. Embarrassed So far, I have just been working on endurance, but I ran with a group on Saturday and was sort of annoyed because of my speed. Today I decided to try to run faster for one mile. I didn't go all out and actually had an encounter with a dog mid-mile but my one mile time was roughly 8:30. On longer runs, my miles are typically in the 10:30-12:00 range. How do I start building up endurance to keep that 8:30 time for longer than one mile. I was pretty spent after just that one mile, but my breathing was not that erratic. I did a 1.5 mile recovery after that but was back to averaging 11 minute miles. It is like I only have one gear or something. I really want to be faster so any help is appreciated.
    Teresadfp

One day at a time

Someone posted this advice, and it's very helpful: To run faster, you need to run more. To run more, you need to run slower. So run lots of miles, slowly, and your pace will automatically increase. Mine was, until I got injured, at least! I'm sure you'll get lots of other good responses, also.
      Scout7

You do it by running more miles, and being patient.
          Running faster is easy, getting faster is hard. To run faster, put yourself in dangerous positions. Coat yourself in honey and provoke large bears. You will run faster. To get faster, run lots and lots of miles. It's a boring answer that no one wants to hear.
          2008 Goals Don't attack the guy that passes me like I'm standing still when I think I'm running fast...I can't catch him anyway and I'd just look silly

The Greatest of All Time

Werd.
            all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be

Obesity is a disease. Yes, a disease where nothing tastes bad...except salads.

Prince of Fatness