pacing question (Read 839 times)

This is prob a dumb question but bear with me, I am a newbie. I dont know how to pace myself. For my "easy" runs, how hard should i be working? You can check my log and see how I am doing. BUt when I run longer, I dont necessarily slow down, I just run my regular way but for a longer amount of time. Is it really essential to run very slowly when running long? any opinions? Thanks in advance!
    ScheriN

You can use the McMillan Calculator to help you determine what your paces should be. Your easy and long runs should be slower, leaving more for the tempo and interval work. Here is the link to the calculator: http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/mcmillanrunningcalculator.htm Hope that helps a bit!

A Saucy Wench

at this point all your runs should be easy, there probably wont be a difference. All your runs should pass the talk test easily, and feel...easy. You should end most runs feeling like you could have worked a lot harder. The only way to know if you should run slower on your long runs is to pay attention to your pace across the run, if you are slowing significantly, then try starting slower Mcmillan doesnt really apply to new runners

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

You just need to buy a Polar RS200d and wear the footpod, and it tells you on your watch the current pace, I use this on all long runs to stay around the 9:30 pace. I also see my heart rate creep up as the run gets longer and if it goes to high then I have to either slow down to maintain HR or allow my HR to go up as I keep pace, you have to choose, what your trying to do is make the same run easier with less HR increase over the course of time which would mean better fitness.