Shin pains (Read 42 times)

paulofthethings

Hi all. I am fairly new to running, but I really want to step it up a couple of gears this year. Last year I did a few 5k's, but in 2019 my goal is/was to attempt a half marathon. My problem is that as soon as I get into a regular running pattern (which for me is 2-3 miles on the treadmill, 2-3 times per week) I get really bad shin pains (splints?) on the inside of both shin, particularly my right leg. I've tried several different things to help prevent this. I believe I have high arcs - the water/paper test proved that quite conclusively! I have tried new running shoes (Brooks Launch), with Dr. Scholl insoles. I have tried icing my shins, stretching and rolling them as much as possible before and after running. I have also been wearing compression socks, which I thought were helping at first, but ultimately the same story. I'm really hoping someone on here might have a solution to this problem, as I really don't want to give up on running altogether, but I hate this pattern of running for a few weeks and then being forced to quit! I'm 40yrs old, 5'11, 180lb if that is of any importance.

I appreciate any advice you guys might have!

Paul

SMART Approach

Don't ice for one. No value for recovery or limit to 5-10 min.  I would recommend doing a big warm up to loosen up shins before hand. Walk 10 min first. I used to put my shins in hot tub before activity. Do some dorsiflexion exercise and calf stretching daily. Need more strength and flexibility no doubt. Toe taps regularily. You may not be ready for 2-3 miles or too fast. Take some walk breaks. Typically shin splints feel a bit better when you are 2-3 miles in. You also may need a stability shoe. Brooks Launch is pretty neutral unless that Dr Scholls insert is prett rigid.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training

Safe Muscle Activation Recovery Technique