Does racing make anyone else sick? (Read 1198 times)

This is a bizarre thing that continues to happen to me. I have been running for about 5 months, and I ran my first race on Oct. 25. I was fine during the race, but the minute it was over, my nose started running, I was sneezing like crazy, and I had a terrible cold. It lasted about four days, and then I was fine. I raced again November 8, and the same thing happened. About 15 minutes after the race, I began sneezing like crazy, and then my nose ran for days. This time I saw a doctor who prescribed a nasal spray and an antibiotic because he thought I had allergies that had developed into an infection. I felt fairly good again by Thursday of this week, so I raced again yesterday. This time, I was feeling it by the finish line. As soon as we finished, I started in sneezing. By the time I got home, my nose was running constantly and my throat was on fire. This morning, my throat is still on fire, and I cannot get two inches away from the Puffs. I run outside daily in the same conditions as race day, and I never get any symptoms after my daily runs--even the long ones. Does anyone have any idea what is causing this? I am miserable, but I love racing. I want to train for a marthon eventually, but I have to get to a point where I can race without the accompanying flu-like symptoms Confused

Running Dad

Hard running(racing) can affect your immune system but that close to finish is confusing. More than likely you already had(have) what your talking about(flu) before your run but it's your running that's setting it off. Or it could all just be Psychsomatic?
      Things to do this year:
      Not get an injury
      Things done this year:
      Bi-Lo 5k(Myrtle Beach) : 02.12.10 - 25:??