Advice on a beginner bike. (Read 1536 times)

I have an old steel framed department store bike with drop bars which I started riding again about 3 years ago.

It is becoming difficult to replace the 26 inch tires and tubes as all modern bikes use 700mm metric wheels, also one of the cranks is slightly bent (from dropping a car body on it a few years back- story for another day.)

I cannot find locally any bottle holders to fit the skinny tubes of my bikes frame: while I am sure I could solve all these problems I would prefer to just start fresh.

Factors to consider:

1) I value simplicity, reliability and ease of maintenance over high tech gadgets, for example I am not a fan of Presta valves. (Talk about behind the times!)

2) I would prefer a well known brand so I can compare prices and get local parts and service if necessary. Brands that I am familiar with include Trek, Giant and Specialized, all of which have entry level bikes.

3) I don't mind a little extra weight if it means fewer punctures or less chance of a bent rim. I am probably 5-10lbs overweight most of the time so why would I worry about a few ounces of weight on the bike?

4) I have thought about flat bars instead of drops but want to keep my options open in case I want to tuck in and go fast sometimes.

So here are the questions:

1) Is it worth paying $800-$1,000 for a bike rather than $400-$600 for something less fancy?

2) Some manufacturers use suppliers like Bontrager for wheels, pedals, saddles etc. Are these items better than those made by a large manufacturer like Giant or is it simply because they just make frames?

3) Do those fiddly looking new gear selectors need a lot of adjusting or are they as reliable as the old levers? (The little finger tip switches and brake lever switches.)

4) Do carbon forks really make the ride more comfortable to a noticeable degree?

Thanks for your advice!

PBs since age 60:  5k- 24:36, 10k - 47:17. Half Marathon- 1:42:41.

10 miles (unofficial) 1:16:44.