New to running, weekly miles and burnout questions. (Read 173 times)

runnerwannabe10

Hello all!

I am brand new to running, well I have been running for about a year now, but am no where near what you would call a "real runner." I started running on a treadmill for weight loss purposes, went from almost 300 lbs to currently 125 lbs, and only in the past 6 months or so have become serious about improving. In the beginning I could hardly run for 3 minutes without wanting to die, as of today I am up to running 5.1 miles non stop. While I am still at a 10 minute mile I can say I am pretty proud of my progress!

I force myself to run every morning, Monday-Friday, on the treadmill. My workout is laid out like this; 10 minute warm up, then straight to the treadmill and run 5 miles at 6 mph, then I walk for about half a mile and then jog for another half mile and cool down walking for half a mile. Over the past month I have increased my miles and pace from 3 miles at 5.2 mph to 5.1 miles at 6 mph.

On to my questions...

Is it normal for me to dread my workout every morning? Sometimes I will be on the verge of tears while forcing myself to run.

Is 4 days a week enough running? Due to other circumstances I can only run Monday through Friday, the weekends are not an option at this point.

Am I just lazy? Do I need to suck it up and force myself to run?

Another downfall is I am always tired, exhausted, sore and moody after running, is this to be expected as I add miles? I want to become a real runner and improve but as the days and weeks go on I find myself dreading running more and more yet cant stop my routine for fear of gaining the weight back.

I have researched running motivation tips and tricks until my eyes crossed, nothing seems to be helping. Any advice would be welcome and so appreciated!

Thank you. 

CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay