1000 Miles Running, 1000 Miles Biking

newbie question (Read 536 times)

Is there an advantage to wearing a stiff-soled shoe for biking? I am just using my regular running shoes - Nike Air Zoom right now.

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the number of moments that take our breath away...(unkown)

Go With The Flow
    Thyroid Support Group

I'm new to the world of biking myself Chenille but from what I understand, a shoe with a stiff sole will help to spread the weight out throughout your foot better (as opposed to putting all of the pressure on the spot of your foot making contact with the pedals). Depends on what type of riding your doing, too. Road biking shoes have very stiff soles on them while mountain biking soles aren't nearly as stiff.
      Eternal Rookie

35 years ago I was told that the stiff sole on a cycling shoe was all about loss of power – the softer (more flexible) the shoe the less energy transferred. That was back when you nailed your cleats into the sole and if you didn’t get it right; you could mess up your knees. I bring that up so that if you do buy some clip in pedals and shoes, you make sure that they are adjusted correctly and the pedals have a decent amount of float. I’m mainly a runner, but I raced bikes for awhile in the 70s and then triathlons in the 80s and 90s.
          That makes more sense than my answer. Big grin I just picked up a pair of clipless pedals and shoes on ebay so that should prove to be interesting. I'm told that I'm gonna fall. Black eye
            That makes more sense than my answer. Big grin I just picked up a pair of clipless pedals and shoes on ebay so that should prove to be interesting. I'm told that I'm gonna fall. Black eye
            Big grin - I was told to stay away from those under my cirmcumstances. Roll eyes I tried my Mizuna's and I think that might be a better option - still with some cushion but a stiffer sole. Thanks for the help