3650 Miles in the Hurtlocker

Ultra talk (Read 738 times)

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

No coca cola at the finish line of my marathon today. Nothing sweet at all. In fact the choices were (1) water and (2) beer. Geez. Stupid short races. They did have fabulous food, but I was faint (having only beer to drink combined with my low tolerance probably contributed); happily the nurses brought me a coke when they came to look at me. But that made me nostalgic for those crazy ultra races.

To the topic, I'm a newbie to ultras (only one 50K & one 50M) but I like doing them in relaxed manner, with plenty of time in aid stations -- from my only 2 experiences so far. But now that I realize "more time in aid stations" = "more time out in the dark later", I start to see the tradeoffs.

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

Feeling the growl again

1. Fueling and hydration. 2. Take care of your feet. 3. Positive attitude.

Hydration no problem.  I can figure that out.  Fueling, I am a complete newb.  I would need to learn.

I can figure out how to take care of my feet.  I have saved myself and others from significant amounts of pain and difficulty in the mountains by knowing how to keep a small foot problem from turning into a big one.

Positive attitude, well, I don't know if it is positive but I am probably a liability to myself as I would likely push forward until they had to pull or carry me off the course.  I've done some pretty tough shit and not quit.

The whole quad falling apart thing worries me.  I've never run much over 3 hrs.  I think I would need to pick a day and just run 6-7 hrs for the hell of it, just to have some idea what I'm up for.

What's up in the fall somewhere near the midwest where doing well would give something significant?  Qualifying for something bigger or something.  I would not do much more than a 50K just to do one.