Beginners and Beyond

All Star Week (Read 66 times)

DavePNW

So those of you in the RWOL 2015 Mileage Game know this is coming up week of 6/1. I have foolishly volunteered to participate.

If you have done this before (or just generally have experience running high mileage) - any tips on packing in maximum miles in a week? Ideally without getting injured.

The obvious things - I assume I will want to schedule a rest day (or two) immediately before & after the week. And stick to easy paced runs. I have never done doubles before, but seems like a good time to give it a try.

Any other suggestions?

Some of us may end up on the same team, so no incentive yet to give bad advice.

Dave

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

Doubles. Lots of them. I think I even did a triple.

Damaris

LRB

First of all, you could run the 68 miles I ran for my first all star week backwards with your eyes closed while juggling chain saws running barefoot across hot coals with a wad of chewing tobacco in your mouth so let's just get that out of the way. 

Having said that, I am not you or some of the other high mileage demons and was pretty happy with my conservative modest contribution.

8 Mon

12 Tue (8 am, 4 pm)

16 Wed (8 am, 8 pm)

8 Thurs

0 Fri (FE in Chicago)

12 Sat

12 Sun

Those were all easy miles and about 20 miles over my weekly average at that time. Aside from being bored out of my mind, there was not much to it.

happylily

I did two weeks of 100 miles in the past. Lots of doubles, like the others said. Mostly easy and recovery. I hope you have a huge love for running inside of you, because expect that by the end of that week, you'll have depleted at least half of it.

PRs: Boston Marathon, 3:27, April 15th 2013

Cornwall Half-Marathon, 1:35, April 27th 2013

18 marathons, 18 BQs since 2010

FSocks

KillJoyFuckStick

Doubles and throw the watch out the window.  Do NOT be concerned with pace, at all, nil, nada, nunca, nein, never.

You people have issues 

Zelanie