Beginners and Beyond

2020 Dailies #14 (Read 32 times)

sdWhiskers

I’m no expert but I imagine for 5k training you want to work on your leg turnover as much as possible. And strides at the end of a run don’t take much out of you - you can’t do VO2max intervals several times a week.

Oh I agree. I guess it felt silly when only running 30 mins. Like I easy jogged 2 miles then did like a mile of strides

DavePNW

Oh I agree. I guess it felt silly when only running 30 mins. Like I easy jogged 2 miles then did like a mile of strides

Ha, yeah that seems weird. Look at it as a 2 mile warmup and a mile of very short intervals.

Dave

6.4, four on flat & stream grade, mostly elevated pace, then 2.4 bowl hills...

AT “1917” nibbling on popcorn wait for movie to start 😀

LRB

There were days when I barely had the energy to run and didn't feel like doing strides, and worse, didn't want to do them. The Hudson training was very aggressive what with two speed sessions, a LR and a day with strides. Coach would ask how the strides went and I'd be like, "I don't know, ask somebody that ran them" lol

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

I usually end up using a hill that is ~1 mile long. So I sprint, walk, sprint, walk...and just keep going up as much as I need.

This one is run uphill, then wall/jog downhill and repeat. That might work but I don't have one that cruel here. LOL.

Damaris

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

6.4, four on flat & stream grade, mostly elevated pace, then 2.4 bowl hills...

Nice. We wanted to watch it yesterday but between the construction in the house and the errands, we are going Saturday.

We just bought tickets to Jimmy Buffett and Europe/Foreigner. Who said we wouldn't have as many concerts here as in Miami?

Damaris

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass