Beginners and Beyond

Raining ThursDailies (Read 24 times)

LRB

No run this morning due to a 615am appt for a root canal  Still dealing with the aftermath of my crown falling out during that terrible HM in July. Will fit a run in later today, most likely when it's high of 84F.

I had never flown on a plane before 9/11 so didn't really experience the drastic changes that happened at the airports afterwards. I was a sophomore in college during 2001.

I flew to Vegas the following month, there were marines patrolling the airport with assault rifles in their hands. It was surreal.

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

I flew to Vegas the following month, there were marines patrolling the airport with assault rifles in their hands. It was surreal.

That's how the French guard their train stations even before 9/11. On our first trip there, we were getting on the tube or whatever it's called there and these 6'+ blond soldiers walked buy with assault rifles and dressed like for war. We were so behind on security compared to the rest of the world until 9/11 and then we did all the stupid things like taking off our shoes like that does anything to keep us safer.

Damaris

wolvmar

UM 45 Ohio 23

That's how the French guard their train stations even before 9/11. On our first trip there, we were getting on the tube or whatever it's called there and these 6'+ blond soldiers walked buy with assault rifles and dressed like for war. We were so behind on security compared to the rest of the world until 9/11 and then we did all the stupid things like taking off our shoes like that does anything to keep us safer.

that might have thwarted the "Shoe Bomber" on a flight to Detroit, post-9/11 

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

that might have thwarted the "Shoe Bomber" on a flight to Detroit, post-9/11 

Meh, that guy couldn't even light his feet, least of all a plane.

Damaris

GinnyinPA

Well, there haven't been any more shoe bombers.