Beginners and Beyond

Which course do you think would be more difficult? (Read 81 times)

http://theblogbyjavier.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/profile.png

or

http://runningwithmiles.boardingarea.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Screen-Shot-2013-12-17-at-10.57.38-AM.png

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

Since I am an expert at hilly courses, not, my non-expert opinion says the second one just because I can see that tiring you more than one straight uphill followed by the downhill.

Damaris

Thanks, Damaris. The second profile is of the Jerusalem Marathon the first is of the Athens Classic Marathon, which I'm really tempted to do this year.

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

The comparison would be easier if the vertical gain unit was the same on both. It looks like the hills on the second are only about 75-100m high vs the 200m of the first, but the first spreads out that gain over about 12 km so it's fairly gradual. Based on that I think the second would be the tougher course.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
                05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

Just B.S.

Since I have done  mostly all my running and races on hilly to ridiculously hilly courses I actually

feel qualified to give advice for once Smile

Second profile.

catwhoorg

Labrat

Second looks to have more total elevation change, plus steeper slopes.

(had to do some mental calculations with the feet/meters)

5K  20:23  (Vdot 48.7)   9/9/17

10K  44:06  (Vdot 46.3)  3/11/17

HM 1:33:48 (Vdot 48.6) 11/11/17

FM 4:13:43 (Vdot 35.4) 3/4/18

bluerun

Super B****

The second.  Only because I know Jerusalem hills chew up legs and spit them out.

Seriously though -- the hills there look much steeper, and there seem to be many more of them.  The first one only seems to have one real rise, and it's fairly moderate.

chasing the impossible

because i never shut up ... i blog