Beginners and Beyond

Training for a road half on trails -- long run question? (Read 47 times)

emmbee

queen of headlamps

TL;DR: what modifications, if any, would you make to a running schedule if the bulk of your long runs were done on rocky trails?

Long version:

I ran my first half last September on a low mileage plan (~21mpw.)  I'd been running for about ten months, and I finished just over two hours. (+07s.)  Since then I've been doing one step forward, two steps back with respect to injury (piriformis) and illness (bronchitis/maybe post-viral asthma, anemia), so I'm trying to be a bit smarter to avoid injury and illness.  I'm a lot slower than I was last year, which is frustrating.  I am running more, and I've been good at running easy, but I think I'm lacking a bit of snap.

I have a half in 8 weeks, and I'm doing a version of the Hanson's Just Finish plan, the one aimed at complete newbies, with a few modifications.  I've basically spent the last month doing weeks 8 and 9 of the program to build a base, and once a week I do some fartleks or hill repeats to shake things up a bit (not high mileage enough to bother with tempo runs yet.)

Basic shape of plan: run 6 days a week, long runs alternating between 8 and 10 miles.  Some bodyweight strength training. I do about 75% of my mileage on trails, and most of that are on flattish service roads with a couple of hills.  The past months I've gone up the mountain on my Saturday runs, which have been between 6-8 miles, so 90-120 minutes of power hiking/running.

I'm very slow on trails, but I prefer them -- easier on my body, and I have much better form.  Just no taste at all for barreling down hills so imagine very good form but teeny tiny steps.