Beginners and Beyond

Faint FriDAILIES (Read 27 times)

DavePNW

In the suitcase. Why is it you never take 2 weeks or more? Because of work, or because you don't feel like it?

Mostly work. I get 4 weeks/year total, which is actually not bad by American standards. You hire into a new job, usually it's 2 weeks/year, which you have to build up with seniority. Ad more than a week away from work in general is tough to manage.

Dave

Cyberic

Mostly work. I get 4 weeks/year total, which is actually not bad by American standards. You hire into a new job, usually it's 2 weeks/year, which you have to build up with seniority. Ad more than a week away from work in general is tough to manage.

I don't have any more yearly vacation than you do. I actually have an extra day (4 weeks + 1 day), but I'm also taking a 2 week leave without pay this summer.

Since I'm a programmer, I can pretty much take my vacation whenever I want, but it's tougher for the woman, as she's customer support.

This might be our last big vacation as a family because a) we can't afford it every year  b) kids are getting older

onemile

I also get 4 weeks + 1 floating holiday... I wouldn't mind taking some unpaid time off but I think that would be frowned upon here.

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

I get 3 weeks until I am here for 15 years after which I get 30 days.  But I know lots of people on the private sector that get 1 week, if at all.

Damaris

DavePNW

we can't afford it 

This is another reason I don't take more vacation than I do. Shit gets expensive.

Dave

LRB

Taking a month off from work is virtually unheard of in the states, even if you have the time. There was some scuttlebutt regarding the practice during the Clinton years about how other countries and cultures do it (and others that take naps) and it was basically laughed into oblivion.