Low HR Training

"Expose Your Slow Twitchers" Daily Maffetone and/or Low-HR Training Reports (Read 23292 times)

Slow and Steady

[deleted duplicate post]

Eric S.

Trail Mix ||| dailymile ||| RA log

Goals: 50km, 50-miler, 100km, 100-miler

Slow and Steady

Yes I did thanks! I think I knew at the time that combining a long run with speedwork was probably a bad idea. Maybe it'd be okay if I only did the speedwork in the first hour? Or just keep it to a shorter session as you suggest.

Which kind of speedwork do you think would be most effective for kickstarting me out of my MAF pace? Intervals or fartleks? Or just plain tempo work? I've never done speedwork seriously before as I despise it, but I think it might be helpful.

btw did you see my previous post to you a day ago in this same thread? Smile

Eric S.

Trail Mix ||| dailymile ||| RA log

Goals: 50km, 50-miler, 100km, 100-miler

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass

Morning, guys. Ended up with 22 miles last week.  This week I did 5 miles on Monday and Tuesday, rested Wednesday, then did 7 MAF miles as my LR with the last 1/2 miles at GMP (HR: 148) and did 3 miles this morning at 141 HR.  Overall, I am slow lately, but that is not surprising giving that surgery was 5 weeks ago.

This Sunday, I am pacing hubby on the Puerto Rico Half Marathon.  Part of me is sad I am switched from the full to the half, but knowing the high is 90F and that means 100F heat index and 80 dewpoint like last year, I am glad not to be doing the full.

Damaris

C, what's this supercompensation you mention?  Never heard that term.

@offseid:

very nice Smile it might be supercompensation after the hard run but if you do the runs at this pace even after rest days then it'll probably stay with you Smile the improvement I mean

even in the case of supercompensation, sooner or later you'll have it consistently! the adding of anaerobic training - done right - will definitely help with that. so keep going!