Low HR Training

MAF Advice (Read 51 times)

pebbles79

Hi all,

I have been following this forum for a while now and I am grateful for the useful information posted here. I would really appreciate some advice on my lack of progress with my MAF tests. I have been running under my MAF heart rate (140) for nearly 5 months now. I am doing 5 runs a week for a duration of between 5 and 6 hours per week. My MAF tests are as follows (8km):

15/8/15       5.32...5.40...5.44...5.50...5.49...5.45...5.48...5.57...Av5.46

14/9/15       5.19...5.37...5.39...5.55...5.54...5.53...5.57...6.10...Av5.48

19/10/15     5.21...5.32...5.50...5.51...6.03...6.07...6.08...6.15...Av5.53

19/11/15     5.36...5.44...5.35...5.44...5.50...5.48...5.53...5.57...Av 5.46

5/12/15        5.21...5.33..5.42...5.42...5.53...5.55...5.49...6.07...Av5.46    Temp 23˚C

29/12/15      5.16..5.36...5.47...5.52...5.55...5.55...6.13...6.09...Av5.51     Temp 25˚C

As you can see my first km time has decreased but my cardiac drift has increased a lot resulting in a pretty stagnant average km time. The first MAF test was two weeks after recovering from a pretty intense training block for a half marathon (which maybe relevant). Also, I  started recording the temperature recently as I live in the southern hemisphere so it was a fair bit cooler in August. I have been doing the 15 minute warmup and down with every run and trying to do a down hill session every week. My diet is pretty spot on too.

I am not sure where to go from here. Do I need to increase or decrease my volume or perhaps adding in some anaerobic work? My next race isn't until a 10k in April. On a positive note though, I have been free of any niggling injuries or illnesses in the last 5 months.

Thanks for the help

BeeRunB