RA Coaching Forum

Qualifying For Boston (Read 536 times)

Okay, here's the story: I have been running for just under 2 years (I am F, 26). Prior to that I was incredibly overweight and inactive. I started with the Couch to 5K and ran my first race a year ago (about 9 months after starting). My progress has been remarkable and fast (if I do say so myself! Wink ). My first race I did 5K in 27:36, my second race was a week later with a 10K in 52:06. My next race was 4 months later with more miles under my belt (I had worked up to an 18 miler and registered for a marathon) and I did 10K in 45:17. I added miles slowly and, even with 2 injuries a month before the race and food poisoning 2 days before, ran my first marathon in 3:59:18 (January). Since then I have done one half marathon (woke up the day before and just decided to do it. Who knew?) in 1:50:16 and one 10K in 49:59. Neither of those were 'raced', but instead just because I could. I want to do the Pacific Shoreline Marathon in Huntington Beach in February. I also want to qualify for Boston. I am fairly confident that I could do it, I just need a plan and strategy. My running has been more sporadic so far this year than I would like, and I am just now trying to consistently get in 30 miles/week. I will slowly be increasing that until I am averaging 35-40 by the time actual training starts in August. BTW, all of my running progress has been made on 30-40 miles/week, never more, with no real plan. I make up my mileage and what 'type' of run it will be when I get on the treadmill. Whatever I am in the mood for is what I do. My intervals are sporadic and dependent on my mood. I have 2 young boys and a teenager at home and I don't have the time to run several hours each day. I normally do 5 runs a week, but my younger sister just moved in with us (hence the teenager) and wanted me to do the Couch to 5K program with her. So 3 nights a week I also do slow intervals with her. (Don't tell her I said they were slow! Blus