Swim Bike Run

Swim Drills (Read 297 times)

ironTriKev

IronMan ;)

I'm trying to improve my forma nd looking to do more drills. So, although I know how to do the catchup, finger drag, and fist drills I'm not really sure what they are accomplishing and what specifically I should be focusing on while performing these drills. I'm also looking for nes drills that I can introduce over time for more improvment. So what is everyone doing and more importantly, why?

Tri-Kev Here are my favorite links:
    My "kick @ss" running club ;)

Swim 2.4 miles.
    Ride 112 miles.
    Run 26.2 miles.
    Then brag for the rest of your life.
    -Commander John Collins, Ironman Triathlon creator

Supa Dupa Fly

I'm no expert but this is my understanding: I've been told that the finger drag is so that in your non-drill crawl you don't swing your arms over and slap them into the water. It helps you to reach out into the water rather than exert more energy. by doing the finger drag you're raising only your elbow up and learning to keep it bent so your hand will just go above the water. With the catch-up, I focus on rotation...making sure that my body is turning almost on its side and that my kick is in rhythm with it. you don't want to keep your body completely horizontal to the water as you front crawl...you want to get a good side to side rotation. Hypoxy drills (breathing only every 3, 5, 7 strokes) is less about oxygen deprivation and more about learning to control your form and keep it strong as you get more tired.
      ~TC --There are 10 kinds of people in the world: those who understand binary and those who don't--
      Carl A