Road to Hopkinton

Anybody run the Boston Marathon? (Read 603 times)

Jeffrey

What was the experience like for you? Give us some details, the good, bad and the ugly. What training plan got you qualified? I haven't qualified yet. I am a novice. My first attempt racing the 26.2 distance comes up on October 21st in Columbus, OH.
    btb1490

Jeffrey, for me Boston is/was a great experience. Whether I am running the race or not, I go to Boston anyway for that weekend. The entire city embraces the race, and if you are running it, you really are made to feel like someone special. You can't go anywhere without someone asking you if you're running the marathon, and wishing you good luck. Many people will say it's just like any other big marathon, and if you strictly look at it from just a race point of view, to some degree they are right. You still have crowds to deal with, lines to wait in, hours to kill before the race. But you can never escape the feeling that you are part of something really special. In a church service I attended on Sunday before the race, they took time during the service to make anyone who was running the next day stand up, and a special prayer was said just for them. Good stuff. Look beyond the actual race itself, look at the people and the places and the events surrounding it, and that's what really makes this thing special. That, and knowing that you had to work your butt off to get to the finish line. Some scenes from 2007, the year of the nor'easter. Starting out in Hopkinton Fun crowds! Looking back down Heartbreak Hill The famous Citgo sign signalling that the end is near. The sight that makes it all worth it! As far as training goes, whichever training plan allows you to get out the door as often and as consistently as possible is the one that is going to work for you. There is no magic formula. Consistency, time and patience are the key. Good luck in Columbus, and beyond!
      Jeffrey