Two black toenails after a race in Kinvaras (Read 1677 times)

I have been running and racing for a couple years now without ever having a black toenail.  Two weeks ago I bought a pair of Kinvaras, I got an 11.5 despite the fact that I wear an 11 in all other shoes simply because the store was out of 11s.  I ran a 6 mile easy run in them with no issues.  A couple days later did a 12 mile MP run in them, afterward I notice my second toe on one foot was a bit sore at the nail, but never thought anything of it.  This past weekend I ran a 10 mile race in them.  I never noticed anything during or after the race, but later that night both of my second toe nails were black (very) and very sore, especially with any pressure on them.  (My second toes are longer than big toe).  The shoes felt like they were laced pretty normal (not too loose) ,and I have what seems to be plenty of room in them.  They still hurt today (Wednesday) but are getting better.

So now that you know too much about my gross feet, the point of my post:  Black toenails from bigger shoes?.....from the type of shoe (Kinvara or more natural style)?.....only a faster paces?  The real question: my longest run in them is 12 miles, and I was planning on them for Philly marathon in 12 days, should I be worried?

Thanks very much.

Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul.

Black toenails can come from any abrasion of the toenail, not just that caused by wearing shoes that are not long enough.  Something rubbing laterally across the top of the toenail or something pushing down on the toenail can just as easily be the culprit.  The fact that you're wearing shoes that are different size than your normally wear could mean that your toenails happen to line up with a seem or crease in the shoe that they normally would not be underneath.  Its just a theory, but that's my guess.

How To Run a Marathon: Step 1 - start running. There is no Step 2.