15:58 XC 5k, cant break 10:00 2 mile (Read 75 times)

JacksonLouis

Hello, Im a runner from New England who is a regular XC and track and field runner. I have been running outdoor track since I was a freshman (2018 Spring season), and cross country since I was a sophomore (2018 Fall season).

During my first year of track as a freshman, I managed to run a 10:44 2 mile on the track, which led me to join the XC team the next fall. As a sophomore on the cross country team, I wrapped up my season with a 16:25 PR in the 5,000 meter distance. The following outdoor track season, I managed to bring my time down to a 10:18 in the 2 mile. This is when I started to notice that I was slower by multiple seconds in the 2 mile than kids that I would beat by multiple minutes in 5k races in the cross country season. I thought this was simply due to my lack of experience on the track, so thought little of it.

My junior season of cross country (Fall 2019), I ran a 9:46 2 mile on an XC course, and brought my 5k PR down to a 15:58. I was excited for the track season as I had broken my 2 mile time in both the 2 mile race and a 5k during this past XC season. However, now that I am back running for my first season of indoor track, I am struggling to break 10:10 in the 2 mile.

Is there a reason that I am so slow in the track 2 mile compared to my times in cross country in the 5k? What should I do during races, and at what pace should I be running during training runs to help me achieve this goal while still performing well in XC? (I typically run 7:00-7:10 during training runs, sometimes closer to 6:45)

Different training?

Also, maybe because of training periodization you're still in a building phase, and your fast times are another month away.

60-64 age group  -  University of Oregon alumni  -  Irreverent and Annoying