Wearing right for the weather (Read 1670 times)

I'm new to this whole winter thing in regard to running. I been looking around at tights but haven't yet bought a pair. Living near the ocean in Massachusetts means it's typically 25-40 through the day right now. RunnersWorld told me I could go outside in in a long sleeve shirt with shorts on in 30 degrees.

How do you prep for a cold day's run? I'm thinking tomorrow (technically today) I'll be heading out for a decent 3-5 mile run in about 33 degrees with low wind. Am I safe?

Also, a tight in this kind of weather, I'd love to be able to afford the Under Armour 3.0 but it's just not realistic for my budget. I may buy a pair of the cheap end Asics, worth the difference?

-Michael

For long training runs err on the side of taking too much clobber... it's no big deal to tie a jacket round your waist or put gloves/hat in your pockets if you find you don't need it all - but it can be very unpleasant if you find yourself 10 miles from home and getting very cold.

You don't need any fancy brands - but when it's cold I normally take: thickish walking socks. Sprinter shorts under running tights. Technical t-shirt/long sleeved shirt (or merino base layer when particularly cold). Shower proof jacket, or goretex jacket if it's really raining properly. Gloves: two pairs when very cold - thin synthetic ones under woolen ones. Just the thin ones when not so cold. A skull cap to keep warm and a peaked cap to keep the rain out of my face. If it's especially cold a buff for round my neck.

Sounds like a lot... but all the hats/gloves/buff can go in jacket pockets if need be, and the jacket and be tied round my waist.

ymmv

I'm new to this whole winter thing in regard to running. I been looking around at tights but haven't yet bought a pair. Living near the ocean in Massachusetts means it's typically 25-40 through the day right now. RunnersWorld told me I could go outside in in a long sleeve shirt with shorts on in 30 degrees.