Garmin - love it - how about you? (Read 1894 times)

I love my Garmin! What do you think about it? Do you think it takes the fun away from running or does it get you jazzed up to improve? Run Happy, Lora Added 11/3 What does everyone think about the nikeplus?
    "Live Healthy" www.blonderunner.com/blog/ Goal: Under 18:00 min in 5K
    Kimmie

I would say for the most part, I love it. I've recently started moving away from it and trying to run based on feel. It's tricky, but I think it's a good tool. One thing I like/dislike about it is that it's made me lazy to scope out routes. I used to put some thought into where I was going to run ahead of time, because I wanted to clock it. Now, I just go out the door and turn around at whatever miles my watch says is the halfway point. That's convenient, but I think I'd like to go back to thinking about the routes ahead of time.
        I'm new to mine. I'm still undecided. I like being able to verify splits and keep more accurate track of my pace during a run. I love it for interval and tempo work. However, most of my runs are in fairly wooded areas, and signal drops quite often. That makes it less effective as both a distance and pace tool. It often disagrees with measured route distances by enough distance to throw off times, which makes me question which calculations I should use. I think I will use it on my open runs, but when I am down along the river, in the trees, I will leave it at home and just use the trusty old G-Shock stopwatch.

"I aim to misbehave."

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

Blonderunner, I see what you are doing. Nice. Love the blond jokes on your website too. Wink