5k times (Read 1492 times)

I think my first one running cross in HS was something like 31 mins or such. By the end it was 19, and in college I had an 18 min 5k split in a longer run than that...but of course now I'm a lot slower. =-)

~J

I have only run one 5k, and I had pretty poor pacing as I am used to longer races and started too slowly. 23:09, age 57.

PBs since age 60:  5k- 24:36, 10k - 47:17. Half Marathon- 1:42:41.

10 miles (unofficial) 1:16:44.

36:10...... I remember feeling like a million dollars! I don`t think I was last. But it wasn`t a big field, and I wasn`t too far from it. Big grin
        "I never said it was going to be easy. I only said it would be worth it."
        vengeancewins

As a Sophomore I ran 23:30ish at a really tough course, so probably around 23:00 anywhere else. Now I run a lot faster than that pace for all my runs.

TRIing to beat the heat!

I'll play... Just FYI- I'm female in the 30 to 34 age group. I ran my very first 5K (before I even finished the Couch to 5K program) in February 2008 in 32:03. I ran my second not even a month later in 28:19. My most recent 5K time was about 2 weeks ago at our Nov. '08 Turkey Trot and I ran that in 23:58. I'm thinking that you are probably looking for some 'hope' that your initial time will drop. Trust me, it will. I also train for triathlons, so my running is usually limited in mileage. So, for the Turkey Trot PR, I really had only been putting in anywhere from 15 to 20 miles per week. For a look at a newbie guy, I'll give you my husband's numbers as well (also 30 to 34 age group): He ran his first 5K this past August '08 is 28:50. His most recent 5K (last weekend) is now down to 24:58 and he's lucky if he logs anywhere close to 8 miles per week. HTH

2012 Goals

Sub-1:42 for half marathon √ (1:41 at Disney, Jan '12)

Sub-22 for 5k √ (21:51 in Sept '12)

BQ for marathon- FAIL

xor

I don't remember. I was pretty drunk at the time.

Outside Lane

5/5/2002 - 29:11

See how they run...