Afraid of speedwork! (Read 88 times)

sukesh

Dear runners,

Total beginner here. I have been running for about 3 months now. I am primarily a slow runner who is more interested in going the distance(i really don't focus on pace and speed all that much). I just broke the 10k barrier (which I ran in 1hr 19min, slow but proud; considering most of my friends can barely run 2 miles Big grin). I ran my fastest 5k in this run (I hit the 5k mark at 37min 10sec, when my PR was 38min 48sec). I have been talking to some of my more athletic friends(and these ones are not runners per se, most are basketballers and tennis players), they recommend that I throw in some speed work(fartleks and tempo runs etc.) into my running schedule. My runner friends however recommend that I stick to a slow pace for now. I have noticed during my runs that raising my pace even a tiny bit offsets my breathing rhythm and makes the run a tad bit more uncomfortable. This scares me; I don't want to ruin the joy I get from those long and easy runs, not to mention the satisfaction of covering long distances. However, there is a 5k event round the corner that I would like to take part in, and hopefully finish with a decently time   ( I was thinking, maybe 30-32min).

How do I go about from here?

Thanks in advance!

SMART Approach

Until you can run 15-20 miles each week easily, you don't need speedwork. You need aerobic base and stamina. Keep your running controlled and build your miles. One day a week you can run last the 1/2 to 1 mile of one of your runs faster. Also mix in a few strides another day per week but I would even wait another month or two to do that. You are doing it the right way. It takes time, be conservative. Focus on adding miles. This is the key to your long term success and progress. Speedwork now will get you injured.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training