How do I "break in" a pair of racers (and my legs) ... Nike Vaporfly Next% (Read 113 times)

Notne

Hi -

By way of introduction, I am an amateur not very fast runner, about 30 miles a week, being surprisingly disciplined (for me) in sticking to a training and recovery schedule in preparation for a half-marathon in December. In ideal conditions I run 10 miles at just under 9:00 min/mile (what I did when working in Wisconsin last month), and here in the South Texas heat and humidity, and huge hills, it's much slower.

I have been training in Saucony Rides, just got some Ride 2s a few weeks ago. What I did is I bought a pair of Nike Vaporfly Next% racing shoes. I know I'm not going to run 4%+ faster in them, but I guess I've bought into the hype that they are very likely to cut some time off in races, and I decided to splurge on them as long as I was being disciplined with the training.

I tried them on in the store today, and they definitely feel very very different than any other shoe I've worn (I've always had "normal" trainers). Of course they're very light, but they have this mid-foot ridge thing going on. It sort of acts as a rocking hinge point, so that if you lean forward even a smidge it rocks your whole body forward. The first time or two I tested that out (in the store), I wondered if I was going to do a face plant!

Significantly, I've heard the Nike Vaporfly Next% racers are not very durable!

Sorry for the long background ... What I'm concerned as a downside of these shoes is that my running  mechanics will be quite different based on how they felt in the store today - which might result in some bad cramping or pain if I just lace them up for the first time on race day.

So I figure I should put some miles on the shoes before race day ... but how many, and what kind?