Beginners and Beyond

hog4life's Huntsville Half RR, Redemption From 2 Weeks Ago (Read 73 times)

hog4life

25th Annual Huntsville Half Marathon

Nov 9, 2013

Huntsville, AL

Short;

Time - 1:56:05

Pace - 8:52

OA – 227/842

AG – 17/63

Longer;

The Huntsville Half(HH), was my debut half back in 2011. This is a fairly flat, fast, out and back course that runs through some neighborhoods, with an out and back section on a greenway (see pic below). I had been running for a few years, did a few 5ks, 10k’s, and a 15k, and thought I was ready to move up to the longer distances. I didn’t know much back then, and still don't, but found a runner’s forum and started reading. I was very intimidated at first, because everyone was running way more than I could phantom. At any rate, I did this race coming off a very weak training plan, along with some injuries, but still wanted a sub 2, and I finished in 2:08:20.

This Half was my 6th race at this distance, and the 2nd in 2 weeks time. The race from 2 weeks ago sucked, I had some foot/shoe/sock issues, PF nags, started way too fast, accompanied with some stomach cramps. My goal for today’s race, which was a loose one, was to do better than 2 weeks ago of 2:03:38, definitely beat my time from 2 years ago, complete 20 miles for the day if possible, but this all depended how my foot felt. I am also training for my first marathon in December, and today's plan called for 20 miles, hence the goal of 20. I really wanted to target about a 9:10-9:20 pace, which would be just a little faster than my MP of 9:33 m/m (more on this later). I did a 3.1 mile WU at a 9:45 pace, my foot felt well, so I knew that I would at least end up with 16 miles for the day.