Masters Running

Race Reports for the March 24 &25 weekend (Read 19 times)

Mariposai

Wishing our Intrepid Master Racers a speedy race this weekend

and...

a speedy race report here. 

"Champions are everywhereall you need is to train them properly..." ~Arthur Lydiard

Falconfixer

Seymour Johnson AFB Half Marathon

Last Sunday I ran a full marathon in Cary, NC.  I didn’t know how the recovery would go so I held off on signing up.  It helps that I’m a volunteer instructor there…so they know me and let me wait until Wednesday to decide.  Who am I kidding?  I was going to run it, just had no idea how fast.  I run around the base fairly often, so I had run almost all of the course (one small section I’d never run) at different points.  In other words, I can’t claim ignorance!

Saturday morning was cold for late March in eastern NC (about 34/35 deg F).  A bit of a breeze, but didn’t seem too bad…then again it always is fairly calm early in the day.  It was a small group running the half—somewhere between 30 and 40 runners, mainly folks that I’ll see fairly often running around the base.  After a short (1.5 mile) warm up, I decided to go with a lightweight running hat, sunglasses, short sleeve wicking shirt, light gloves, shorts and calf sleeves.  Also decided to wear my new Saucony Guide 10s.  Slightly less stack height than the Asics GT 2000s I typically run in, but about 2 oz lighter as well.

Since it was run on an active duty (primarily) base the runners skewed younger than typical.  Fitter too for the most part.  With the marathon less than a week behind me, I had no expectations.  Thought if I could manage 7:45s, I’d be thrilled but 8’s were more likely.  We lined up, and we were off.