RA Coaching Forum

Claire - Back from injury. Looking for a 'Fool to 100K' program that won't break my leg. (Read 328 times)

Now that was a bath...

Ok, I am currently asymptomatic on returning to the streets (obviously as a runner and not as a hooker, those days are long gone Tongue). I tried to run again at the seven week post stress fracture mark and was unsuccessful. I stopped again for another three weeks and now, ten weeks post injury I am pain free. Except for the fact that I didn't cross train and I need to regain my fitness completely. This was a conscious decision. I liked building my fitness last time. I don't mind doing it again. The background. I have been running for five months which has included a rather shocking three months on the bench due to a knee injury and then a stress fracture. I obviously need to listen to my body more, we will take that as read. I think if I had been less of a 'If it hurts, make it hurt some more' type of personality I could have avoided the injuries. Fact is that this has been a learning curve for me but it has tempered my enthusiasm none. The present. I have new shoes. Podiatrist wants me to run for 8 weeks then go back to see him to have my running analysed again and to see if orthotics will help me in the future. I have been advised by the physio to run alternate days for at least a week. Ran 1 mile for the first run as directed (did on grass - no problems), Ran 2.6 miles today on concrete (no problems), I have been told to stay at around three miles until I feel stable (two weeks she advised) and to stay on top of any little niggles (i.e. take an extra day off or stop a run if I don't feel 100%) Now here's where I want assistance. Say by May I am back to running at least five times a week at approximately the same distances as before my injury. How would you progress from there? I am not going to race at all this year apart from the 10K Tough guy/ gal race on August 19th. This is an army obstacle style course so I ma