Trailer Trash

hypoThermic Thursdaily (Read 13 times)

mtwarden

running under the BigSky

Morning Trailers!  It's another no bueno day here for the trails, -14 with a windchill of -29   So will hit the gym and get on the dreadmill again (will also strength train while I'm there).

qotd: go to shoe?  and how long has it been your go to?  I'm still using La Sportiva Akasha (a bit of a heavier duty trail runner); I've been using the Akasha for about seven years now.  They were discontinued for about 2 years but bought a pair every time I ran into one- ended with about 10 pairs   They've decided to reintroduce them, so I should be good for awhile

2023 goal 2023 miles  √

2022 goal- 2022 miles √

2021 goal- 2021 miles √

Not exactly hypothermic, especially compared to Warden's neck of the woods, but this is what I woke up to.

I live by the ocean, this is not normal!

Got my 9 miles done with intervals yesterday, despite the windy crap.  6 on the schedule for today, either this afternoon or after work.  I think we're getting a break in the precipitation then.

QOTD: I've been wearing Asics forever.  The hubs has a friend who works there so we've gotten some nicely discounted shoes for years.  My go-to are the Asics 1000 or 2000.  Occasionally I give their trail shoes a whirl, currently trying the Asics Trabuco.  Good soles but not much cushioning.  I see there's a Trabuco Max, which might remedy that, so I might try that next.  But as a general rule, I'll probably stick with Hoka Speedgoats for the technical stuff.

5/11/24 Grizzly Peak Marathon, Berkeley, CA

7/20/24 Tahoe Rim Trail 56 miler, NV

9/21/24 Mountain Lakes 100, OR

LB2

HOT AF down here. It was 70 this morning when I ran/walked. This tapering has me a little crazy, and I have a bunch of work crap going on that I was hoping was over... It never ends. I only went one 2.5 mile loop today. I was only planning to run 4 days this week, but it will probably be something for 6 days.