Swim Bike Run

Do I need a coach? (Read 408 times)

Muebele

Hey everybody, first race of the season yesterday. 

Disappointing.  I have been doing triathlons for 3 years now, and this year I really thought would be my breakout.  I have an A race (Timberman 70.3 in August) and a B race (Philly Olympic yesterday).  While my training is limited by time, I was really doing much better then I have in the past with getting good consistent training in.  I really expected to be more competitive yesterday.  The swim I continue to have problems with open water sighting.  On the bike, while my chain felll off and cost me a minute, I still couldn't keep up with many people when I was passed.  The run I don't know what happened, I think I just took my foot off the gas.

My question for everybody is, Should I get a coach?  I am not sure what I need to do to make that breakthough.  I have a list of swim workouts and other workout that I saw people do.  I try and do at least one long bike ride a week that includes hills, and some of the people I ride with more recently really push the pace, and running I am well experienced in.  My A race is in 8 weeks.  I really don't have more then 10 to 11 hours to train a week.  Am I expecting to much to be competitive in my age group?  Or does the planning that a coach provides really make a difference? 

Any advice?

Slo

What are your goals? 

What are you calling disappointing?

I only did a quick scan of your log and at your race times. For the training time your putting in your times look pretty solid. You also said this was the first race of the season. For me it always takes a race or two to get the kinks worked out.