Circle North

Knowing what you know now (Read 13 times)

It seems that I'm in a unique position. Hopefully I'm about to start my running completely over from scratch. That's got me thinking about what I've done before and what I might do differently this time around. I'm not looking for suggestions for me, but I am curious. Knowing what you know now, is there something about your running/training you would do differently if you were completely starting over? Suck less/run faster doesn't count.

A list of my PRs in a misguided attempt to impress people that do not care.

L Train

I could write a very long book on this topic.

Fro

I'm the newbie here and would love to hear what both of u have to say and everyone else as well.... For my meager 1.5 years of marathon training, I would NEVER take any run or race for granted and enjoy every effort. Would never do 3 marathons in one training year. Spend more time cross-training to maximize each cycle.... Looking forward to comments from those who have a clue instead of my dribble...

Of course the flip side of this question is "what wouldn't you change", which is equally interesting to me.

I'll throw mine in, too. I'm still pondering the question(s).

I will not train for a specific outcome...fuck the outcome. Instead be in love with every workout. Be in love with the breath I am taking.

I will see the impermanence of everything...therefore attach to nothing...especially what is not... what could be...or what should be.

I will not be the bigger better now...instead just be where I am...love where I am. If that happens to be sitting on my stoop...I will be grateful that I saw a bird fly across the sky because I needed a rest day.

In order to see the truth, sometimes you have to loose an eye.

http://www.runningahead.com/groups/Utri/

-Watch what Lance does, and dont do that.

-Always run upwind of Doug.

-Always run behind Egad.

-When running with Fro, listen to death metal or grunge to offset the positivism.