A Mile A Day

Streak is getting close to ending (Read 157 times)

jeffdonahue

I think my streak may be ending.  I started playing soccer this Fall on an over-40 soccer team and have developed some severe pain in my lower abdomen when i run.  All indications lead to a sports hernia (though it may be a full blown hernia after yesterday wehn I rented a jackhammer to break down some cement footings in my yard, because the pain is really severe this morning). 

I went to the doctor last week and they didnt feel a hernia and are scheduling a colonoscopy to rule out other things, but when I described the pain to another guy on the soccer team he said he had it before and it was a sports hernia.  I looked it up and it sounds right.  I have 2 soccer games left and was hoping to play them and was really hoping I had just pulled something and it would heal up.  I would be willing to just run 1 mile a day for the rest of the year until the pain went away if necessary, but am having trouble even walking without pain this morning.

This sucks.  I really enjoyed playing soccer this Fall, but am pissed that it is hurting my running so much and now may even end my streak.  I will continue to try to keep it up with a mile a day, and as of right now am not planning on playing in the last two soccer games (which sucks because the team I am on rarely has any substitutes and I hate to leave the team short-handed) in hopes that the pain will begin to subside.

I'll keep you posted.  Send some healing vibes my way.

Jeff

Ojo

Oh no! 

I have to say those over 40 soccer teams are deadly!  Evil  My husband can barely move today from his game yesterday . . . and you should see the huge scar on his forehead from the 18 stitches he got 3 weeks ago!  Be careful.

I really hope you get some answers (and that you are still able to run)! 

Sara

MM #2929

Seanv2

Very sad news, Jeff. I hope you heal up quickly and easily!

Have you qualified for Boston? I want to interview you!

Message me!