Beginner Runner 46yo (Read 52 times)

Sweet_Feet

I am just getting into running for fitness and to push myself. Running 2-3 times per week since January and now built up to a Sunday 5 mile run.  I feel good after this week but am curious how long it takes to reduce times consistently.  Ran a 5k 4 weeks ago in 29:40 and my goal was to break 30 but now I want to go much lower...27:00 is next target. When should I try another race and what type of training needed to improve 3 minutes

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

Especially just starting, the single biggest factor for improvement is adding more miles, mostly easy miles.  Rate of improvement is highly individual.  I wouldn't race more frequently than once a month initially.  It's all too easy to race too frequently and not leave time for training because so much is taken up with recovery.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
            05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

Sweet_Feet

Thanks for the advice.  Anymore suggestions on training plans or good places to find running info?  I want to keep up my momentum gained during my pre 5k race schedule

SMART Approach

This site is a great resource. Use Search function. Google is too. Get on Instagram and Favebook Groups. I am Coach T on I LOVE TO RUN Facebook group where I give weekly tips and ton of interaction. A lot of info out there to learn.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training

Safe Muscle Activation Recovery Technique

www.smartapproachtraining.com

In a nutshell, without elaboration, the best way to get faster is to run more miles. And they don't need to be fast.