Masters Running

2023 Charleston Distance Run Post Mortem (Read 32 times)

Dave59

(I do not expect anyone to read all this, but I'm sitting here recovering with nothing better to do than write a short story. Nowhere near as entertaining as most, if not all, the other race reports on the forum.)

I lived in Charleston WV after I graduated from college in 1981 until we left for Houston in 1999. I was dating a woman from WV at the end of my college years so rather than move back to Buffalo, I went to WV to find try and find work. One summer evening, I got a visit from a guy who was dating the same girl and he wondered where she was going so often so he followed her. That ended up being the end of our relationship but I eventually met Cindy and things ended up good. And that's how I ended up in WV.

The Charleston Distance Run was big back then so one year I decided to run it. In 1989 I entered, trained, and ran it in 2:13:31. In those days I did not realize people ran all the time so I would pick an event, do some training, and then go run it.

For the last 34 years I thought about doing the race again but never go around to it until today.

I started “training” 15 weeks ago. I took a Higdon half marathon plan and added a couple weeks to it. The schedule got interrupted by family issues, then Canadian wildfire smoke, and lastly by Covid just a few weeks ago.

But here I was at the race anyway.  I got to the race an hour early and sat on some steps next to the Kanawha River. It was a beautiful morning with the sun rising off to my left. I heard a quiet splashing noise and then saw something I have never seen before. Someone was swimming up the Kanawha River. I watched the steady stroke for at least 20 minutes as they went against the current, passed in front of me and eventually went far enough where I could not see them.