What's realistic? Sub 4:30 mile. (Read 3485 times)

Just Be

Currently my best time is 5:22.45 set a couple weeks ago. I'm coming back to running after a 4ish year break. When I first started I was pretty chubby and unfit, though I could still run a mile in under 9 minutes, but just barely. I've been running now with dedication for a little over 4 months and I don't plan to let up. I'm reaching a point now where I'm no longer making amazing progress, though I haven't plateaued by any means. I'm aware that my progress is going to slow tremendously at this point. This leads me to my question... Assuming no injury or major life events hamper my training, do you think I can break a 4:30 mile by this time next year? EDIT: I'm a 26 year old male. Realized I left that important info out. Tongue Also, at the moment I am in a base building phase running for time and not distance, though the time I want to spend per week at this point has translated into 30 to 40 miles per week on average, and my weekly mileage is increasing as my average pace continues to decrease. I've been mixing mild fartlek into my runs but have been holding back the urge to do interval runs or repeats until 6 months of base building (it's soooo difficult to hold back, too!). Also, I'm trying to do things smart this time and have gradually been introducing heavy lower body plyometrics into my routine (bounding, body weight lunges, jump rope, etc) in addition to heavy upper body lifting 2 days/wk. I expect that by Feb, 08 that my body will be used to this and in a prime state to start maximal effort interval training and mile repeats, etc.
    mikeymike