Masters Running

Newbies - the new thread (Read 608 times)

KimberlySue

Kimberly

Hmmm..not sure if this is the right post for introductions but since it said Newbies and I am a newbie to the forums i thought this might be as good of a place as any.

My name is Kimberly and I love running.  I try to get in about 30 miles a week.  I am currently training for The Big Sur Half, Las Vegas RnR Half, PF Chang's RnR Full and Pemberton's Ultra.  I am going to work on slowly upping my miles.  Last time i upped to fast and ended up with a achilles tendinitis problem that is still healing. 

I am happily married, the mother of two grown sons and a grandmother (1 more on the way).  I am a belly dancer for in a local troupe here in Arizona.  Oh and recently I was the first place runner in the Susan G Komen Race for the Cure Survivors race in Phoenix, AZ. 

Look forward to connecting,

Kimberly

Hi, Kimberly!  You're certainly welcome in our little newbie corner of cyber-space, but, wow, you're running the pants off of this newbie!  Feel free to jump in on the daily as well - the water's great and everyone's friendly.

I'm in the Philly suburbs & spend weekends and summers at the Jersey shore.  I'm a middle school music teacher (translation:  out of my mind, but in a good way).  I also kayak and sail in the summers, and I'm getting a trainer for my bike this weekend for indoor winter XT.  My fourth "runniversary" will be next March.  I've run a few 5Ks, a 10-miler, and did the Philly Distance run HM this past September.  I'm really, really slow (no, really), but I love it too much to let that discourage me (much).

(Ahem, big announcement here.)  I just filled out the application for my first marathon, I wrote the check, and I'm putting it in the mail this afternoon.  New Jersey Marathon, Long Branch, May 2, 2010.  Eeeeekkkkk!  Marathon training, week 1, begins Monday.